Twilight/Harry Potter Crossover Rant   Leave a comment

Is it just me, or does there seem to be a shit load of Twilight/Harry Potter crossovers out there…with the same plot – Harry, Luna and Draco go to Forks, or Harry and Draco go to Forks, or even just Harry and Luna, and it’s a full on repetitive Edward/Harry, and Jacob/Draco or Jacob/Luna…?

Doesn’t that seem to be the most occuring theme with the Twilight/HP Crossovers? Damn if it isn’t getting old and annoying!

For one, I find that Jacob/Draco is really bad pairing. Actually, it’s a really annoying pairing, and rather disgusting, kind of like Ron/Hermione for me and I hate that pairng (R/Hr) with a passion. Jacob Black and Draco Malfoy have only one thing in common with each other – and that is that they both come from a family of Blacks! Completely different families, obviously, but named Black nonetheless. Authors seem to really enjoy pairing these two up for some insane reason, and it pisses me off completely.

I hate bottom-Draco, and with a Jacob/Draco pairing, he is most definitely the bottom, as there isn’t anyone, besides perhaps Emmett and the rest of the Quileute pack, that can beat Jacob’s large, massive build. Bottom-Draco’s are simply very annoying for me to read! The only person I like to read as a bottom (submissive partner) is Harry!

I don’t know why anyone would think that this pairing is okay…IT DOESN’T WORK! They’re so completely different from each other  – their lifestyle, background, and just simply the way they think. They would NEVER be able to work, in real life (never mind that it’s FANFICTION here, and that it’s not supposed to be looked at as a real life “thing”). Draco is rich, spoiled, angry, CLEAN, stuck-up and snobby, and a complete arsehole. Jacob is loud, dirty, wild, boisterous, all grins and care-free, and a  low-class MUGGLE shapeshifter. No matter how much people will argue that because the pack can turn into wolves, that means they are part of the wizarding world, it’s NOT TRUE!! They live in the muggle world, go to a muggle school and hang out with muggles and live like a muggle…THEY ARE MUGGLES!!

Draco would never tolerate Jacob and his personality and lifestyle, and Jacob in turn would be more likely to punch the blonde bastard in the nose then imprint on his ass. No…just, no. Maybe it is all of these things that make authors be like, “Yeah, they’re so opposites that they would make the best couple”, but to be, it’s not something I can comprehend. Jacob/Draco would never work, it’s an awful pairing that That is That!

As for the Jacob/Luna…

I love Luna to death, I’ll admit that. I also really love Jacob too (or maybe it’s Taylor Lautner I like, :P). However, I can’t really see Luna in a relationship with, well, anyone. Not because she’s so weird that I think nobody would want to be with her. It’s just that Luna has more of that best friend or sister material vibe, and not that girlfriend vibe.

That’s not to say that I haven’t read any Harry/Luna fics, because I have and I have enjoyed them. But, when it comes to fics where Luna is in the background, as a side character (such as Twilight/HP crossovers), she’s the sister or best friend…I can’t read her as someone’s girlfriend, at all. That probably doesn’t even make sense, lol, but that’s what I feel.

Why don’t I like Jacob/Luna? Well for one, like Jacob/Draco, it’s reaccuring theme/pairing in the Twilight/HP crossovers. Not ALL of course, but quite a few of them nonetheless. And two, because again, the vibe…I can see Luna getting close with the Quileute pack, as a new and ‘weird’ friend or even a sister-like relationship that she often has with Harry, but to have her date one of them – it’s just not very logical or likeable.

And three…well, it’s all very cliche, really. Harry, Luna and Draco move to Forks to get away from the Wizarding World, and one by one they each get ‘mates’. First it’s usually Edward and Harry…and then they meet the La Push pack and upon sight, Jacob imprints on Draco/Luna (depending on the story, but usually it’s Draco). It’s all been done before A HUNDRED TIMES!! I said, it’s all very cliche!

It’s simply annoying, when you start reading a Twi/HP fic, hoping for an original storyline, and then end up getting the same thing. It’s like reading the same fic, just with different senarios and different authors, but with the same plot just bent slight so that the authors made it their own and can’t claim theft!

Also, it’s annoying, getting into the story, and though it’s bordering on cliche and overused, it’s still okay and acceptable. For Example: Harry and his friends/pseudo family, show up in Forks, and after looking around their new house, they go to Forks High for their first day of school. There, they meet the Cullens, and soon it becomes clear that they they are vampires and that Edward has sniffed Harry out as his mate, yadda yadda yadda…But then the story goes straight downhill and right back to horribly cliche, when…They are introduced to the La Push pack, and one by one Harry’s friends (again, usually Draco or Luna), is imprinted upon…

First Harry, then Draco, then Luna or however it goes. It’s annoying because, miraculously, they ALL find mates, in the same place – Forks/La Push! I accept Harry, of course – he’s the whole reason I’m reading any of these fics – but to then go and pair the others up, that’s where it spoils badly.

I don’t even know of this little rant of mine is making any sense at all – I know what I’m trying to say, but getting it down to where it is comprensable is a little hard…

You might or might not agree with all this, but I don’t care. This is my opinion…I HATE Jacob/Draco, Cliche Twi/HP crossovers and girlfriend-Luna (unless with Harry, or maybe Neville as a really BACKGROUND pairing). She’s much better being the little sister/best friend.

Leave a Reply

